Ableist* Attutudes

How is it that I’m not functionally disAbled until the moment I leave my home? (Not that it’s a Bad thing I’m a very Proud Radical Crip) I have had to make so many modifications to my home and personal environment over the years to make my life possible (occasionally I have invented where there are no modifications available, or affordable). I’ve been very fortunate, I realize this.

The true problem begins when I leave my home environment and am faced with so many barriers (not just physical built environment i.e. stairs, curbs, and the like) The most debilitating barriers I face on a daily basis are attitudinal. Most notably from “professionals” i.e medical professionals,and those who should be more enlightened, but aren’t. Fear and ignorance,discrimination, judgement, and assumptions about who I am (or Should* be) from the folks I meet on a daily basis occasionally take a piece out of my soul. Ignorance is the most debilitating of disAbilities my friends, and it’s pervasive.

This is why* I do the things I do, and attempt to educate and inform. But even SuperCrips like me get so very tired of it all.

~Crip Out~

Leave a Reply

